New Friends

I’d like to share with you all a good experience I had recently, and perhaps a little moral. We all like hearing a happy story, don’t we!

Well, I’ve been press-ganged (that’s how I did see it) into joining a youth volunteers scheme for my swimming club. Turns out that I had to do a six hour course on Event Organising and Team Management. Sounds thrilling, doesn’t it? I also had to go with my club’s other youth volunteer, a girl I’m not too fond of. I really wasn’t looking forward to it.

Well, I arrive and sit at the table with one other guy. Things are pretty stark boring. About half an hour in, some girls turn up late due to the roads being closed. Bam. I don’t even know how it happened, but I immediately got on well with one of them. She loved making tea, and I ended up having about seven cups of the stuff. Free waiter service? Yes please. We struck up an almost instant friendship, and it just made me think (ding, she just text me) how nice it is to just click with somebody.

I asked for her number, and we exchanged communications. I think it’s always best to be bold. I decided I’d like to keep chatting to her, so I asked. I think a lot of people don’t, or do it over Facebook. Ask, straight up. Of course, the girl from my club claimed we flirted all day but hey, she just sat with her phone all day, I made a new friend.

So the moral being; if you go out, then put yourself out there! Actively make a friend, it’s worth it, if only for a new person to chat to!

Leave a Reply

