DP: Un/Faithful

Today’s Daily Prompt is something I could see some people writing for hours and hours andhoursandhoursnhoursnhrsnhrs… over. ‘Faith’, is such a huge and wonderful thing to some people, and they try thei all to express it in words, when it really is impossible. The Daily Prompt says ‘Tell us about the role that faith plays in your life — or doesn’t.’

Well, what is faith? Dictionary.com says it is ‘confidence or trust in a person or thing’. In that case, faith means a lot to me – and everyone for that matter. I have faith that the postman will deliver my letters correctly. I have faith that the BBC will air the 10 o’clock news at 10 o’clock precisely. We all hold faith, or trust, in a great many people or things. However, the word faith obviously brings up the huge and taboo topic of religion. Yep, I said it: RELIGION. It being one of the three topics generally kept off of the social side of the internet, today’s Daily Prompt is a stinker for sure! The arguments that religion throws up online are pretty epic.

Me? I’m atheist. Thus far in my short life, I have seen no evidence so as to prove the existence of a higher deity, God or other Jim. Neither have I gone out of my way to search for this evidence. I went to a Christian school, but had given up on the idea of God by approximately the age of ten. The same prayers we had repeated every school-day, multiple times a day for years were just words. I can orate them to you now, they were so drummed into me. The lunchtime prayer – ‘For what we are about to receive, may the Lord make us truly grateful, Amen.’ The Lord’s prayer. as recited in assembly each morning:

“Our Father, whom art in heaven,
hallowed be your name.
Your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.”

There are these and more, but I’ll tell you that God was most definitely not in my mind as I repeated the verses day in, day out. My parents didn’t send me to this school through their belief – they don’t believe either! However, in my area of the country, the majority of the primary schools are Christian schools, named after this saint or the other. The school I went to was a very good school, and that’s why I went there. I’ve probably made it sound like a hellish place run by extremist Christians – it wasn’t – I loved my time at primary, it was great.

Well well, this really has gone off topic, but hey-ho! In this way, faith plays a large part in my life as a form of trust, but not so as a relation to God. I don’t believe in God, although if somebody would like to prove it to me, be my guest. I guess that makes me agnostic really.

6 thoughts on “DP: Un/Faithful

  1. My husband was atheist most of his life. The two books he read that made an impact were The Case for Christ: A Journalist’s Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Paperback) Lee Strobel and Mere Christianity by C S Lewis. Read them at your own risk (light chuckle)
    Enjoyed your post!

  2. Pingback: Faith in Faith | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

