DP: Unpopular

Today’s Daily Prompt is an easy answer for me, as it happened to me very recently! ‘Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.’

Mine was choosing not to attend the college ‘RAG Day’. RAG stands for ‘Raise and Give’. The idea is that three charities are chosen, then the day is spent trying to raise money for the three charities. All sorts of things go on: people get sponsored to walk around all day with jelly in their wellies, to spend time in a baked bean bath or just to go and shake collection tins under peoples noses in the town. Now, the idea is that everybody has to dress up as something silly (or festive, it being close to Christmas time) in the spirit of having an enjoyable day. A couple of my friends decided to go and have their legs waxed for charity. I feel sorry for them. Oh no, wait, I don’t – I wish I could have been there to see it.

So all sorts of things go on during the day in the aid of raising money – although lots of people don’t really enjoy having their nice time in the pub disrupted by people shaking money tins. I don’t know the exact total, but over £10,000 was raised during the event. The thing is, it’s only actually a small number of people that put any effort into raising money. The majority of the students attending dress up, go down into the town not to shake tins, but to get drunk. RAG day is really not the day to be in Bridgwater, as students overage and underage spend the day tottering around town necking alcohol from the time the off licenses open to about 1:00 in the morning when the RAG Day college party ends, and everybody is chucked out of the nightclub.

The college tends to receive a few public complaints on RAG day. I haven’t heard any of the 2012 horror stories yet, although I’ve heard one or two of the 2011 ones. I lifeguard with the head of student liaison at college, and he told me the worst complaint they had in 2011. Five girls turned up at college in the morning, all dressed as elves. At about 10:30am, college received a call from an elderly man saying that there were five intoxicated elves squatting down to defecate in his porch. Most unpleasant. The reason for this being that the only thing that underage girls can conceal in their handbags that will get them drunk is spirits. They start drinking at 9:00, and are totally out of it within a few hours.

I really didn’t want to be bothered with all of this, when I spent the day quite happily and peacefully. Also, the only thing I had to dress up in was a penguin ones-suit given to me by one of my friends for my birthday. No thanks; although maybe next year eh?

Leave a Reply

