DP: Circle of Five

Today, the Daily Post draws from a writers’ quote. Here’s what we’re meant to be doing today: ‘A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?’

Well, that’s a tricky one really. It depends on the person I’d like to be. I could write down a list of people like Alan Sugar and David Cameron, and the average would place me a wealthy, intelligent and successful man. I wouldn’t mind being ‘wealthy’, I hope I have a degree of intelligence to my name and endeavour to be successful, but am I truly the average of these men? To throw in a little nodule of controversy; I’m not sure I’d want to be the moral equal of a politician. You could also list five names like Bob Marley, Nelson Mandela, and other ‘freedom fighters’. Do I have a right to even wish to be the average of these men? Perhaps, but again perhaps not. This seems to be a very wishful thinking sort of post, really. Basically a ‘who do you want to be?’

Therefore, my answer is this: I want to be myself. Perhaps these names are not those I spend most time with, but some of the people I hold in highest regard. They are people whom I am already close to and have earned my respect. I’ll simply use their first names, as I wouldn’t want to expose them for anything online.

1. Lindsay
2. Emily
3. Tom (not me)
4. Austin
5. Alastair

I know that this does not mean anything particular to my faithful readers, but these are the five I would be the average of. I think it would make me an intelligent person, though bit ragingly so. Modest, confident and enjoyable company. I won’t go so far as to say I am these things, but I hope so.

4 thoughts on “DP: Circle of Five

  1. Pingback: ANCIENT OLD MEN « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Reflections: A Circle Of Five… | Mirth and Motivation

  3. Pingback: Circle of Five | Beyond Beauty Tips

  4. Pingback: Reflections: A Circle Of Five… | The Blog Farm

Leave a Reply

