DP: Live to Eat

Today’s Daily Prompt – rather disappointingly – has nothing to do with the Mayan Doomsday. I’m pretty sure the folks at Daily Post could have hitched that one, but no matter. It is in fact, ‘Live to Eat’ and it reads ‘Some people eat to live, while others live to eat. What about you? How far would you travel for the best meal of your life?’

If you’re living to eat, you’re going a bad way. You can enjoy eating. In fact, you can enjoy it very much, but if it is the highlight of your life, that isn’t good. Of course, I don’t specifically mean food. Food can be the highlight of your life, your passion. Think about this; Jamie Oliver’s passion and life is based around food and culinary expertise. However, his joy is in the making of the food, not shovelling it down his throat.

Me? I eat to live. I enjoy eating, especially at Christmas time and other special occasions. Most of the time though, mealtimes are mundane – there are many other things I could better be doing with my time. I am quite happy to commute to a restaurant for a specialty occasion, but not to the ends of the earth. For example, that’s a wonderful Chinese/world food all-you-can-eat buffet which I really enjoy, but rarely. I’ve been once this year I think; but I do really enjoy it there. I don’t really have anything else to say. Don’t live to eat – eat to live guys.

One thought on “DP: Live to Eat

  1. Pingback: LIVING WITH FOOD « hastywords

Leave a Reply

