DP: Nightmare

Wow, what a brilliant Daily Prompt! Lets get the creative writing going I should think. It is titled Just a Dream: ‘You’re having a nightmare, and have to choose between three doors. Pick one, and tell us about what you find on the other side.’ Let’s go!


I run. I don’t know how long I have been running, all I know is that they are still chasing. They will never stop chasing me, never. My bare feet are raw from pounding against the course floor, and my hands grazed from many falls. I feel pain ripple through my whole body from the many lacerations and burns. I don’t know how long I have been here, but they have burned me and cut me every day, stopping only when I black out. Now I have run, and now they are chasing.

Ahead there are three doors. Three doors set into a white wall that seems to stretch to either side of the horizon. There is no sky, just a burning haze of ash and smog. The doors are the way out. I cling to this thought, not knowing whether it is true or not. It must not matter which one I take. Being only a foot apart from each other, they must all go to the same place. I am close now, the rags of my shirt snapping behind me like pennants in the wind. I crash through the leftmost door, and there is-

Nothing.

I try to stop, and feel my legs tangle, throwing me through the air. I land, Bo crunch, no pain. The ground feels hard beneath me, and it’s surface is like that of a mirror. There is a man beneath me, gazing into my eyes. His hair is brushed and he is perfectly clean. I cringe away – and so does he. I realise it is my own reflection. How? I have been burned and beaten and I was bleeding mere moments ago. I could barely see from the blood in my eyes.

I look up to the world of mirrors, and everywhere there is a shift of movement. I stand, aware, and the explosion of movement is visible all around me. I scream and begin to run, the sound echoing and bouncing. All around me there are figures running. I fall and am cut. I leap to my feet and I run. I run, for they are chasing me.

2 thoughts on “DP: Nightmare

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: This Nightmare | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Haiku: Just A Dream… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

